Forum

Pro Micro Programming  

RSS

KG5QFN
01/02/2017 9:19 am  

So I posted this and then saw that the Topic was marked solved.  So, I'm re-posting as a new topic so as not to confuse.  I hope this is ok:

Ok, so I'm a complete newby.  I've uploaded the firmware and get the message "Done Uploading".  I assume this is good.  However, the screen would have bright white blocks and did not display any text.

I had got the Pro Micro from amazon:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B012FOV17O/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Also bought the LCD from amazon.  Thinking I had the same issue as KB5EZ, I removed the resistors and installed the 10k pot.  No more bright white blocks, but LCD is illuminated with still no text.

I am not 100% certain that I'm uploading the firmware correctly.  I have followed the instructions and all the other forum advice.  I know I have a cheap Chinese board, but should I be using the Leonardo or the Sparkfun board?  My Pro Micro has a solid red and solid green light.

I've done the reset several times and depending on which board I choose, the COM port changes from COM8 (sparkfun) to COM10 (leonardo) for the upload. 

Since this is not a sparkfun, do I need to do the reset twice?  According to the Arduino page: https://www.arduino.cc/en/Guide/ArduinoLeonardoMicro

I says I can hold down reset and only release when the compiler says uploading.

I've tried both the double reset and the Arduino reset with no issues either way.

One more thing.  As mentioned above, I have a single solid red light and green light when under USB power.  However, I just noticed today that when not plugged into USB an using external power I have 2 solid red lights and single green light on the Pro Micro.  Does this mean anything to anyone?

Thanks in advance for the help!

Russell KG5QFN

ReplyQuote
Chris Horner
01/02/2017 3:05 pm